Author Topic: Balancing encounters?  (Read 2213 times)

Machine Gun Batman

• Minion
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Balancing encounters?
« on: July 27, 2015, 06:42:14 AM »
I'm currently DMing a game of Legend (a self converted Rise of the Runelords AP from Pathfinder), and my players frequently consider my encounters too hard. My four players are former 3.5 veterans, quite enjoy CO (and sometimes TO) and their builds certainly reflect that. Their builds complement each other and are build with synergy, such as the frontline fighter having Fire Elemental while two casters use Arcane Lore with fire damage. They also make use of interaction skills/vigor, defensive fighting and maneuvers, so they are not complete newbies.

The party composition:
  • Frontline Fighter 1 "Sentient Construct/Shaman Chassis" (Battle's Tempering/Fire Elemental/Sentient Construct)
  • Frontline Fighter 2 "Paladin Chassis" (Battle's Tempering/Judgment/Smiting)
  • Caster 1 "Tactician Chassis" (Arcane Lore/Shaman Spells/Tactician Spells/Tactical Insight
  • Caster 2 "Lich/Shaman Chassis" (Arcane Lore/Lich/Virtue)

The following encounters were considered too hard:
  • Level 1 party vs a single level 3 Barbarian (Dervish/Path of Destruction/Path of the Ancestors). PCs had terrain advantage (Narrow indoor area with chokepoints). PCs fled after Fighter 1 was knocked out.
  • Level 2 party vs three level 2 Operative Minibosses (Utter Brute/Path of Destruction/Force of Will/Smiting) and one level 3 Character (Dragon/Tactical Insight/Force of Will/Lightning Elementalist). Neutral terrain. PCs fled after some tactical mistakes (spreading their fire and allowing the enemies to group up). Returned at Level 3 and curbstomped the same fight.