Author Topic: Mooks: How to judge level?  (Read 1577 times)

rejectedreality

• Minion
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Mooks: How to judge level?
« on: December 08, 2015, 05:42:50 PM »
I've been running a Legend campaign for a few months now, and I've been trying very hard to be "honest" about levels. As in, I don't use the Bethesda model of leveling the world with the PCs. So if the level 8 PCs decide to go into a village in the middle of nowhere, they can totally steamroll it, and there magically be level 8 guards to provide a challenge. Similarly, if they stumble upon and happen to fight an elder dragon or something, it's still a level 17 elder dragon. I'm not gonna level it down.

So. I have been struggling with that, but that's not the point of the topic. The point of this topic is that I'm trying to figure out what different level mooks means "in-universe". I saw that levels 1-5 is typically mortal, and 16-20 is essentially on the level of gods. That makes total sense for fully statted characters, whether they're PC, NPCs, or enemies. But how does that work for mooks? Am I just meant to use mooks of an equal level of the party to keep them challenging? How does a level 20 mook make sense? They're on the level of gods, but they're nameless, non-influential, non-tracked guys? Basically, I have trouble envisioning a mook that's any higher than level 5.

Edit: Another reason I'm asking is that I plan to run an army vs. PC situation, with 200 level 1 mooks and a level 10 general vs. a group of 5 or so level 8 PCs. Don't really know what level mook a foot soldier should be. Is level 1 appropriate? As an example and reference point.

What does everyone think? Are the levels entirely mechanical, and meant to keep them relevant at all levels? Or do they have a place in the world, with a level 20 mook the supreme leader of molerats?
« Last Edit: December 08, 2015, 05:44:36 PM by rejectedreality »

Tim4488

• Elite
  • Ballot Box
    • View Profile
    • Awards